I had my 5th treatment on Monday and have been in bed all week. The first week is always the toughest having only sufficient energy to go to the bathroom and at a push the kitchen. I’m hoping that by Sunday I’ll be able to sit in the lounge room for a while.

I am so grateful for the very special friends and cousins that have been taking care of me throughout this time. No words can do justice to the gratitude and appreciation I have for the kind caring and thoughtful acts they continuously do for me.

The feelings of extreme fatigue, nausea and discomfort keep coming in waves and when they do I try as much as possible to keep my awareness on where I am and what is happening at that precise moment.

My actions are very limited so my present moments are very simple. For example looking out of my window, talking on the telephone or eating something are few to mention. When I have my full attention on being present to that which is present I become immersed in the moment and the physical discomfort becomes far less pronounced to the extent that sometimes it actually disappears.

As soon as my mind gets distracted from “what is”, I get lured back into thinking about my predicament and allow the power of the physical experience to take over once again.

I find it difficult sometimes and tend to go back and forth in out of being present. It sounds so simple and yet it’s not easy to apply.

However the more I experience being in the moment the more I realize how powerful it is as an antidote for stress, pain, anxiety or anything that keeps me awake at night.